Social Sciences Department Chair Awarded Prestigious Fellowship
 /  Blog / Social Sciences Department Chair Awarded Prestigious Fellowship

Social Sciences Department Chair Awarded Prestigious Fellowship

STM is proud to announce that Social Sciences Department Chair Kevin Gleeson has been awarded the James Madison Fellowship. Named for the nation’s fourth president and one of the primary authors of the United States Constitution, this prestigious award provides up to $24,000 in funding for secondary school social science teachers pursuing a master’s degree in political science. STM was the only Catholic school in the country to have an applicant selected.

Mr. Kevin Gleeson

“As a professional, I try to serve as an asset to the school community,” said Gleeson. I seek growth out of respect to my colleagues and always look for chances to continue learning. STM invests their time and resources on my behalf, so striving to be a consummate professional is a task I take seriously. Receiving a James Madison Fellowship represents my commitment to that end.”

As part of the fellowship, Gleeson will attend the four-week Summer Institute on the Constitution at Georgetown University, which will provide six of the thirty credits needed to earn his master’s degree. Gleeson intends to earn the other twenty-four at Marquette University.

The 53 James Madison Fellows were selected in competition with applicants from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the nation’s island and trust territories. The fellowships are funded by income from a trust fund in the Treasury of the United States and from additional private gifts, corporate contributions, and foundation grants.

Recipients are required to teach American history or civics in a secondary school for at least one year for each year of fellowship support. The award is intended to recognize promising and distinguished teachers, to strengthen their knowledge of the origins and development of American constitutional government, and thus to expose the nation’s secondary school students to accurate knowledge of the nation’s constitutional heritage.

For more information about the James Madison Fellowship and Foundation, please visit


  1. Congratulations Mr. Gleeson!!! that is such an honor.

    brenda Hamburger
  2. Kevin,

    congratulations on your accomplishments! I am very proud of you and
    all the members of the Social studies department. thanks for keeping
    up the tradition of excellence.

    Tom Knitter

    Tom Knitter
  3. We are so very proud of you! Well deserved!!

    The Dawsons
  4. Congratulations!
    I am so proud of the educator that you have become aNd your commitment to St Thomas More High School!

    Mary Burke
  5. Simply amazing Kevin – congratulations

    ConNie Manke
  6. Congrats Kevin. No surprise to me as you have always managed to be an overachiEver. Kudos to you.

    Kevin wales

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked.*

    Facebook Feed

    This message is only visible to admins.

    Problem displaying Facebook posts.
    Click to show error

    Error: An access token is required to request this resource.
    Type: OAuthException
    Solution: See here for how to solve this error

    School Information

    St. Thomas More High School
    2601 East Morgan Avenue
    Milwaukee, WI 53207

    Phone: (414) 481-8370
    Fax: (414) 481-3382
    Email: [email protected]

    Translate »